DIY Bedroom Bench from Converted Coffee Table {Part I}

16 Sep

I mentioned a little bit ago that I had found a few great pieces in the warehouse Chris’ parents have. One of the items I came home with was a wooden coffee table. I’ve been wanting to do a DIY project and convert a table into a bench for the guest bedroom – and this piece was perfect!

This post will be done in phases, as it’s been raining the last few days and I haven’t had a chance to paint it yet – I’ve only sanded. I wanted to share the progress/process anyway:

Before:

After:

I really love the texture of the wood underneath the finish that was on it. It’s grainy so when I do a coat of paint it will look weathered and rustic.

My goal is to create something that is between these two looks:

Also, and I know this goes without saying, but always always always wear a mask when you’re sanding a piece of furniture. I thought I was wonder woman and didn’t wear one at first and my lungs punished me! Often the laminate or liquid finish on a piece of furniture is toxic and you don’t want to be breathing in the dust from it.

 

{Bedroom photo sources: houseofturquoise.com & decorpad.com}

One Response to “DIY Bedroom Bench from Converted Coffee Table {Part I}”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. DIY Bedroom Bench from Converted Coffee Table {Part II} « - September 25, 2011

    […] Here is a pic of what I started with, and the first post is here. […]

Leave a comment